This year our 20th Anniversary May Ball will be on Saturday 21st May 2016.

Thursday classes will continue over the school holidays, meeting at St Mary’s Church King Street, with a focus on the dances for this summer’s trip.

We’ll be back at Dyce school from the 21st April.


Created in 1996, Aurora is a group of dancers and musicians based in and around Aberdeen, Scotland, who share an interest in traditional Scottish dance and music. We dance and play music for fun, at social occasions and performances, in Scotland and abroad.


Aurora on stage in Bogliasco, Italy, August 2013

Aurora on stage in Bogliasco, Italy, August 2013

Dancing and music

Aurora meets each week for social dancing. We welcome beginners and experienced dancers and musicians. We provide basic tuition in Scottish traditional dances so even if you’ve never danced before please come along and “have a go”. The highlight of our year is the Aurora Ball and we regularly organise a variety of other social events. In 2006 we celebrated our 10th anniversary with the publication of a book of Scottish Country dances and in early 2009 published our Second Book of Scottish Country Dances. Copies of both our dance books can be purchased via this website.

Performances and ceilidhs

Aurora performs and teaches traditional Scottish Country set dances, Highland and Ceilidh dances and are both experienced (regularly performing locally and internationally) and enthusiastic. Our expert team of dancers and musicians can bring a lively touch of Scottish tradition to any event. The Aurora Ceilidh Band is renowned for excellent music, interesting dances and fantastic dance callers. If you are planning a ceilidh party, festival or conference, please contact us to enquire about booking Aurora.

Class dates for 2015 -2016

Session starts on Thursday 7th January, and will finish for the Easter break on Thurday 31st March.

Thereafter we’ll start again on Thursday 21st April and finish on Thursday 30th June 2016.

Annual Membership Fee

Session 2015 – 2016 only £10.

Committee members 2015 – 2016

President: Liz Jones
Vice President: Gillian Mackintosh
Secretary: Lisa Cullen
Treasurer: Kirsten Ferguson
Committee Members: Elaine Fitzgerald, Claire Fogarty, Graeme Nesham, Anna Smail, Alison Smith, Brian Smith and Lorna Smith.
Aurora observes an equal opportunities policy.

Powered by eShop v.6